Training to run across Texas

I’ve written a blog like this before, but I am sure its tucked away some where in the archives. 

Currently my running coach has me running 7 days a week. As of today I run 5 miles a day. Usually we inrcrease the mileage by 1/2 mile to 1 mile each week depending on problems I had the previous week. 

By the actual run day, I should be running about 13 miles a day seven days a week. This is a good thing since the run across Texas will only require me to run 10 miles a day 4 to 5 days a week. 

At first it was a beating to run everyday, not so much because of the running, but more because of the issue with washing clothes. Since I tend to drop weight every month, I did not want to keep buying $30 shirts and $50 shorts to run in. Not to mention the $70 bras I wear. Basically, every three runs, I have to wash all my clothes and do it over again. I do this until the clothes I am wearing are absolutely necessary to change, then I buy new clothes and start the process over of keeping the running clothes until I have far out grown (in grown?) them.

Have you run today?

6 Comments

Filed under General Information

6 responses to “Training to run across Texas

  1. Anna

    I haven’t run today… or any day for a long time. Can I ride my bike with you? I know the tedium of chores like washing clothes and buying new ones is not the most exciting part of this process, but try to change the way you think about it. It’s just as important as the fuel you put in… it symbolizes the past that you are discarding as you step into the real you… 🙂

  2. of course you can ride your bike…just so long as I get to hop on when I get tired.

  3. Very impressive – keep up the good work…. 7 days a weeks seems crazy to me….. but you are working with a coach and doing more than I plan on doing anytime soon 🙂

  4. 7 days a week is crazy. I can’t believe how the Lord has protected my body these past few months. Both my coaches are amazing at what they do. I can’t believe I am working the best Movement Coach in the nation and an Olymipan. My running coach runs 1500 meters in 3:43 sec. AMAZING! Who in their right mind runs a 4min mile! They are both great men who have helped me come a long way. I am so greatful for them both!

  5. Best roomie ever

    Well…since i don’t have a washer/dryer. I have to let my running clothes dry out from all the sweat and then rewear them one or two more times. Gross I know, but sacrifices sacrifices. Wish I could run today, but instead walking 6 miles around the halls of St. Paul. oh the joys of nursing.

  6. sometimes I just rinse in cold water in the bathtub and let them dry. afterall….its just sweat. Nothing wrong with a natural body fluid.

Leave a Reply

