Never run in 95 degree weather!

When I started running (more than 45 seconds), I did all of it on a treadmill at the gym. Since March I have been running exclusively outside. This was rough in the beginning as the treadmill is so much easier than the road. After having done it awhile now, its seems very normal. 

Today I ran outside at 4pm because I wanted to go see the screening of the movie, “The Proposal”. Normally I would have ran at 7pm because of the heat.  Its never a good idea to run during the hotest time of the day. It was a beating. I was out there for 61 min and had to sacrifice one mile due to heat and a depleation of my water supply. 

From here on through the summer, I will wake up at 5:30 am to go for a run. I am learning how much hard work goes into getting my miles in and completing them successfully. 

Its now 11:38pm (central time) and I am about to get a few hours of shut eye before I wake up at the crack of dawn to go run.

Here’s a to a good nights rest for my body!

7 Comments

Filed under General Information

7 responses to “Never run in 95 degree weather!

  1. I am with you on that – that is why I get up at 4:40 every morning. I head out the door around 5:00 to get my run in. I have been doing this for 2 1/2 years and love it. The only time I have trouble is getting my long runs in on Saturday. I am not quite as good at getting up early on Saturday.

  2. Thanks Tim. I read your story on your blog. Looks like we have similar backgrounds. I’ve lost 80lbs since beginning my endeavor. And more keeps on dropping. I really appreciate your encouragement. Thank you for sharing some of your routine with me. I will use your dedication as motivation for me. Gracias!

  3. Anna

    Early morning is better for your skin, too. I know you’re not white lightening like me, but still, the sun is not your friend. That’s my motto, anyway.

  4. White lightening I am not, but I find it humorous that you’ve ascribed that name to yourself 🙂
    Good call on the sunlight. I am not into tanning although my skin tends to take in the sun well. My job, being mostly outdoors is enough Vitamin D for most of America! Good call on decreasing the amount of my sun intake for the day. Thanks again Tim!

  5. Good for you – keep up the good work!

  6. Best roomie ever

    Yeh, ran at 2 the other day, and thought about jumping into the creek along white rock lake trail. We should run together sometime. What’s your mile time? just want to make sure i can keep up with you. You’ve schooled me girl! I’m proud of you!

  7. I am positive you run faster than me. I can run far but I am slow. Since I am training to run 300 miles, speed is not a priority. I focus more on mileage as opposed to speed. But I would still love to run with you sometime.

Leave a Reply

