Limitied social life

A friend of mine was concerned I was not getting enough social time because I was either running, eating, sleeping or writing. Its true that my life is consumed with training and sleeping. Since I run so much (7 days week), I usually hit the sack pretty early. These days its not abnormal for me to get 9 to 10 hours of sleep each night. Running really helps me sleep hard all through the night….except when my stupid cat bites my face and walks over my head to wake me up so I can feed him.

Two positives about my limited social life.

  1. I am an introvert by nature. So in general, I don’t mind being alone all day and not talking to anyone. I’d rather be at home than out to eat with friends or to see a movie. Although I do enjoy these things, I don’t have to have them on a regular basis. I can go weeks weeks without one-on-one human contact. Thus, being alone all day, training, writing, eating, etc., is no challenge. I rather enjoy the quietness of my house….its just me and my fat cat, Chunk. I find great amusement in throwing paper clips at his tummy while he tries to get some shut eye. I have made it my priority to rob him of his slumber since he so eagerly steals mine every morning at 4am. 
  2. This is where God has me right now. The fact that I am so content being alone is probably a great indicator that I am living in the spirit by doing what I am suppose to be doing.

 I don’t know what the next 5 months will look like, but I can only imagine it will become even more strict. If you invite me to a party, hangout night or want to come over and chill, please don’t be offended if I say I can’t. Its really hard to plan life around training. Its imperative that I get my miles in each day, write at least 10 pages a day and sleep whenever  I feel like I need rest. If I don’t get these things, then I can’t complete the task at hand….RUNNING ACROSS TEXAS TO PROMOTE EMOTIONAL HEALTH!

I am so incredibly thankful for all the invites, phone calls, and emails to hangout. Please don’t stop them from coming. Just know this temporary season of my life is dedicated to training. After November, I will attend all the Thanksgiving/Christmas parties, retreats and social gatherings I get invited to (maybe not all them, cause too much social time is a bit overwhelming for me).

Thanks for being sensitive to where God has me during this season of my life 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under General Information

One response to “Limitied social life

  1. Anna

    Oh good. I thought you were breaking up with me, but I guess we’re just “taking a break” instead. Whew!

Leave a Reply

