training schedule

Several of you have asked what I am doing to train for the awareness run.

My long distance mileage is (as of 12.8.08) 11 miles.

  • I run every day.
  • I run 2 or 3 miles four days a week.
  • One day a week I run 4 or 5 miles.
  • Two days a week I run a slow 15min. mile.

On the 3rd or 4th week of training, I usually decrese everything by 75% and return to normal the week after.           Monday and Wednesday are reserved for strength training.

Since my injury, this scheduled has been moved around a little. There are also some days I don’t get the run in or workout due to poor time management, over commitments or simply…lack of time. I have been really good about being diligent and making this my priority, but sometimes, I have to sacrifice training for sleeping, working or sadly (my guilty pleasure)……reading. I admit it. There were a couple days last month I read a book instead of doing a simple 30min run.

So, truth be told, I am typically good about keeping with the training schedule. However, sometimes days are skipped or mileage decreased. All in all…I am learning to allow myself the opportunity not to be perfect and make judgment calls based on how my body feels. I am learning to do this without resentment or guilt. Its tough, but a great lesson. Being hard on myself is no way to win emotionally. It definitely does not bring freedom any closer.

Good times,

aurora

ps. this training schedule changes monthly

1 Comment

Filed under General Information

One response to “training schedule

  1. Heidi

    Aurora!! I am so proud of you. Running for a cause is awesome and so mindboggling!!! There is a quote about running that I just love and I thought that I would share it:
    If the miles behind me could be put into words before you…
    you would feel my efforts, my struggles, my desires,
    most of all you would see my joy…
    Watch me from afar run the trails and hills
    and miles upon miles and you will see…
    – a runner
    Thanks for your effort to the cause. I’ll be praying for its success!!

Leave a Reply

